## The 2008 Eric Hoffer Award Short List Announced

Hopewell Publications announces the Eric Hoffer Prose Award short list.

NEW JERSEY - The Eric Hoffer Award for prose is nearing its annual decision with the announcement of the short list. Each story is previously unpublished and will be featured in the pages of *Best New Writing*, an annual anthology of new fiction and creative nonfiction, along with other Hoffer honorees. The winner will be announced in early fall with the release of *Best New Writing 2008*.

Here are the short-listed authors and stories:

- \* Andrei Bhuyan, The Cube
- \* Jeff Freiert, The Mohawk's Fear of Falling
- \* James Kaelan, A Deliberate Life
- \* Reggie Lutz, Ice Masons
- \* R.A. Rycraft, Komunyakaa Days
- \* Rhys Schrock, Wrapped Up in the Written Word
- \* Gladys Swan, Small Wonder
- \* Sharon van Ivan, Juggle and Hide

Two separate awards carry the name of American philosopher and freethinker Eric Hoffer, who embodied the spirit of independent learning and human potential. In addition to the prose award, the Eric Hoffer Award for independent books has become an annual international event.

**Best New Writing 2008** is being edited by Robert Gover, best-selling author of One Hundred Dollar Misunderstanding, Time and Money, and On the Run with Dick and Jane; Thomas E. Kennedy, award-winning author of the Copenhagen Quartet and Cast Upon the Day, and Advisory Editor of The Literary Review, Christopher Klim, author of Jesus Lives in Trenton, Everything Burns, The Winners Circle, and Idiot!; and Matt Ryan, former editor of Writers Notes Magazine.

More Information: publicity@hopepubs.com www.BestNewWriting.com www.HofferAward.com